甚麼是空氣質素健康指數?如何通報空氣質素?

PRAISE-HK利用香港環境保護署的空氣質素健康指數(AQHI)來告知市民目前未來48小時的空氣質素。
空氣質素健康指數是透過計算臭氧(O3)、二氧化氮(NO2)、顆粒物(PM)和二氧化硫(SO2)的三小時移動平均污染物濃度下,它們所導致入院的個別健康風險增幅的總和(%AR) 而轉化得出。四種空氣污染物的健康風險增幅總和被分為以下11個指數及5個健康風險級別:

健康風險級別 空氣質素健康指數 健康風險增幅(%)
1 – 3  <= 5.64
4 – 6 5.64 < %AR<= 11.29
7 11.29 < %AR <= 12.91
8 – 10 12.91 < %AR <= 19.37
10+ %AR > 19.37

有關香港的年均空氣質素指數
 

甚麼是PRAISE-HK?

PRAISE-HK (「個人化實時空氣污染風險信息系統」) 是一個以智慧城市為基礎而研發的流動應用程式,能為你提供所在位置的實時及未來48小時空氣質素及健康風險信息
PRAISE-HK提供空氣質素及健康風險信息的解析度由20米(郊區)仔細至2米(城市道路網絡)
 

為何選用PRAISE-HK?

香港特區政府現時的空氣質素監測網絡由位於不同地區的13 個空氣監察站及 3 個路邊監察站組成,為市民提供不同區域的平均空氣質素狀況。這資訊雖然有用,但只是說明了廣泛地區的空氣質素一般情況,並未能顯示街道與街道之間空氣質素的細微變化。故此,市民大眾很多時候會認為城市中的空氣質素幾乎沒有變化,而他們亦沒有辦法遠離空氣污染嚴重的地方。
事實上,像香港這樣人口密集的城市,由於交通及通風系統狀況不一,街道之間的空氣質素實際可能存在很大的差異。PRAISE-HK流動應用程式的目標是為市民提供街道的空氣質素資訊,讓他們在日常生活中作出更明智及健康的選擇。
website-why-praise-maps

PRAISE-HK流動應用程式使用說明

主頁 現在位置的空

主頁顯示你GPS所識別地點的空氣質素健康指數
home_tc

  • 點擊置中的圓形空氣質素健康指數屏,查看不同主要空氣污染物的健康風險增幅
  • 點擊十字形按鈕,查看在目前空氣質素健康指數下的健康指引
  • 點擊書籤按鈕bookmark_w一覽查閱你關注地點的空氣質素健康指數
  • 向左滑動預測軸,查看目前位置未來48小時的空氣質素健康指數
  • 點擊地點按鈕icon-button-circular-1,進入空氣質素街道圖頁面;
  • 點擊左上角菜單按鈕 menu-button-1,查看不同頁面。

PRAISE-HK流動應用程式旨在展示香港空氣質素的微細變化。如用戶身處香港以外的地方,程式會選取香港一個指定位置來提供空氣質素資訊。
 
 

 

空氣質素街道圖

你可以在主頁點擊“地點按鈕icon-button-circular-1,或菜單頁面進入空氣質素街道圖頁面。
空氣質素街道圖會首先顯示你身處位置及附近的空氣質素分布。
map-page
你可以…

  • 拖曳透明度滑軸,調較空氣污染物圖層的透明度以更清楚地查看污染物的分布或底層地圖;
  • 滑動下方質素預測軸,以查看未來48小時空氣污染物的分布;
  • 點擊物圖層按layers,查看空氣質素健康風險增幅總和(%AR)、空氣質素健康指數(AQHI),以及不同污染物,包括二氧化氮(NO2)、臭氧(O3)、可吸入懸浮粒子(PM2.5)、懸浮粒子(PM10)和二氧化硫(SO2)的分布;
  • 地圖以重新定位地圖的顯示區域;
  • 放大查看你周遭空氣質素的微細改變;
  • 縮小查看你周遭空氣質素的大規模分布;
  • 地圖任意選擇位置或於搜尋欄輸入某個位置以查特定位置,其位置的空氣質素健康指數會顯示於對話框中。你可以點擊對話框查看不同污染物的濃度和健康風險增幅,或:
    • 點撃白色書bookmark_w儲存所選位置到書籤列。儲存位置後,書籤按鈕會由白色變成藍色點撃藍色書bookmark-01便可直接跳到書籤列(我的關注地點)頁面;
    • 點撃詳細預測按鈕,查看空氣質素健康指數、健康風險增幅,以及各空氣污染物的詳盡預測;
    • 點撃康訊按鈕,查看此健康風險增幅下的健康指引;
  • 點撃locator_updated按鈕,關掉空氣質素健康指數對話框。

 

 

我的關注地點

從空氣質素街道圖,你可以把你和你家人常到的地點加入書籤列。只需輕輕一按,你便可一眼檢視你關注地點的現在及未來預測的空氣質素狀況。
你可以在相關頁面點擊bookmark-01或在菜單中點選我的關注地點進入書籤列。書籤列頁面會以列表形式展示這些地點現時的空氣質素健康指數,以及今天餘下時間和明天空氣質素健康指數預測範圍。你也可…
bookmark_tc

  • 點撃任何一個書籤名稱進入空氣質素街道圖,查看該位置周圍環境的空氣質素;
  • 點撃任何一個書籤的空氣質素健康指數預測,查看未來48小時的詳細預測;
  • 重新排列書籤次序;
  • 點撃“>”按鈕或向左滑動書籤列進入編輯頁。你可:
    • 更改書籤位置的名稱;
    • 啟動或關閉該書籤位置的推送提示
    • 設置該書籤位置推送提示的提醒級別。啟動某書籤位置的推送提示後,程式如在未來3個小時內預測到空氣質素指數等於或高於所設級別時,便會發出推送提示。為免在空氣質素較差的日子向用戶發送過多提示,每個書籤地點每天最多只會產生一個通知。

 
 

預測短片

對於有興趣了解更多有關PRAISE-HK系統的用戶,你可以從菜單進入預測短片頁面,查看以不同圖層呈現的空氣質素健康指數預測。
短片分成四個方框,以展示不同空間比例的空氣質素健康指數預測。它清楚顯示了不同空氣污染物排放(來自陸地),在氣象環境影響下的流動情況。
4-maps
左上圖27公里解析度顯示了覆蓋亞洲大部分地區的模型結果。此模型將未來48小時的天氣變化,以及空氣污染物從亞洲不同地區進入大灣區的情況納入考慮。參考了空氣質素健康指數的顏色標示,短片中空氣質素健康指數較高的位置會呈現黑、棕和紅色,空氣質素健康指數中至低水平的位置會則以橙色和綠色展示。
空氣污染物從亞洲一個地區流動到另一個地區的情況十分常見,而且時有發生,而這樣的流動亦會把空氣污染物帶到香港。這個27公里解析度的模型便可預測中國南方地區的背景空氣質素變化
右上圖顯示的是一公里解析度的模型結果,範圍覆蓋大部分珠三角地區和香港。這個一公里模型結合27公里解析度模型的結果,以及更仔細的本地排放資料,能夠幫助我們預測香港的背景空氣質素變化
右下圖顯示的是由以2-20米解析度顯示的城市分散模型,範圍覆蓋整個香港。運用一公里模型的結果,並以街道解析度進行運算,這個城市分散模型能把本地交通密度、風速和風向、建築物形態和街谷效應納入考慮。
將整個香港以街道比例在短片中展示出來並不容易,因此我們選取了九龍灣地區為參考,以仔細至街道為比例的模型於左下圖展現。
除空氣質素健康指數外,你可以在頁面上方的選項列中選擇顯示不同污染物(NO2、O3、PM2.5、PM10、SO2)的分布變化。你還可以選擇顯示健康風險增幅總和(%AR)的預測短片。我們沒有顯示四個不同區域的%AR總和,相反我們在短片的左上圖顯示整個香港的總%AR,以及分別在右上圖、右下圖和左下圖顯示個別污染物的健康風險增幅:%AR(NO2)、%AR(O3)和%AR(PM)。理論上,總%AR亦包含%AR(SO2),但SO2的數字通常非常細小,我們在此忽略。
透過以相同顏色分類繪製總%AR及個別污染物的健康風險增幅,我們希望告知公眾哪一種空氣污染物較影響整體的短期健康風險增幅。總體而言,在路邊或街道上,空氣質素健康指數中的總%AR,二氧化氮(NO2)的影響最大;在郊區,臭氧(O3)的影響則最大。
 

技術細節

城市中的空氣質素取決於多個因素,包括(1)由鄰近或遠處排放源所釋放的空氣污染物(包括車輛和船舶、發電廠、工廠,及住宅和商業大廈等與人類活動有關的排放源,以及沙塵暴和森林火災等自然排放源); (2) 由一個區域流動到另一個區域的空氣污染物;(3) 會引致光化學反應生成空氣污染物的其他氣象因素,如温度、陽光及雨水;(4)影響空氣污染物在城市擴散流通的城市形態。
要分析目前的空氣質素狀況,以及預測未來48小時的空氣質素變化,我們需儘量把上述所有因素納入計算考慮。在PRAISE-HK系統,我們融合了多種嶄新的科學技術,包括最新的排放清單、土地利用的資料、大範圍的粗略天氣預測和光化學空氣質素模型、非常精細的高解析城市街道峽谷模型、交通運輸模擬模型,以及大數據分析,以提供仔細至每條街道的短期空氣質素分析及中期預測。
簡單來說,PRAISE-HK系統由以下部分組成:

  • 背景空氣質素 – 運用耦合的WRF-CMAQ光化學模型和最新的排放清單得出
  • 香港空氣質素分佈 –整合本地城市形態信息(地形、建築物高度和密度)、交通運輸數據,以及從WRF-CMAQ模型的天氣和背景空氣質素數據,加上Urban-ADMS模型而得出
  • 實時變化 – 由大數據分析,配合Urban-ADMS模型中運算出的實時風勢、空氣質素,以及不斷變化的道路/交通狀況相關的特殊報告相結合

technical-details_tc

 

常見問題 

Q1: 這手機應用程式適用於香港以外的其他地區嗎?
PRAISE-HK手機應用程式暫時只提供香港的空氣質素資訊,但我們期望類似的應用程式會在其他城市及地區發展。
 
Q2: PRAISE-HK 是否只有手機版本?
PRAISE-HK 支援 iOS 和 Android OS 6.0 以上版本。
為掌握實時空氣質素及健康風險資訊,用戶手機需要連接互聯網,同時亦需要開啟 GPS (全球定位系统) 以提高定位準確度。
PRAISE-HK 團隊正著手研發電腦網絡系統,期望日後能支援更多樣化平台。
 
Q3: 空氣質素健康指數與%健康風險增幅有甚麼關係?
空氣污染物(例如NO2)的%健康風險增幅或%AR是指,與該污染物濃度是等如零時的入院風險,與觀察水平下比較,該污染物引致的入院風險增加百分比。
空氣質素健康指數是基於四種主要空氣污染物:臭氧(O3),二氧化氮(NO2),二氧化硫(SO2)和懸浮粒子(PM)的%AR總和。
PRAISE-HK使用的%ARs來自依時間序列所得的香港污染和入院數據,屬於“短期”風險,因為使用短期(每日)變化的時間序列分析所得。與長期風險(年平均)相反,“長期”風險是根據空氣污染引發的構成死亡率或癌症病例數據而得出。
 
Q4: PRAISE-HK 從哪獲得數據?
PRAISE-HK的主要數據是來自香港科技大學環境研究所開發的廣泛大氣和環境數據庫。 自1997年以來,該數據庫一直收集與實時及遙感氣象和環境觀測、城市形態、人口和衛生統計、交通運輸模式(陸地、海洋和空中)及其他排放源特點有關的在線和離線數據。 這些資訊為PRAISE-HK系統的WRF-CMAQ、ADMS-Urban、MATSIM和大數據分析提供數據。
請參閱「技術細節」。
 
Q5: PRAISE-HK有沒有包括室內空氣質素的資訊?
暫時未有,但預計第二階段的PRAISE-HK App將會包括室內空氣質素的資訊。
目前推出的第一階段PRAISE-HK App,其重點是找出不同微觀環境的空氣污染差異,精細度達至社區和街道的水平,讓用戶透過地圖查找不同街道的實時和未來48小時的空氣質素資訊。而我們預計第二階段的流動應用程式將於2019年年底推出,其重點是估算室內及垂直環境 (例如高點與地庫)的空氣質素。屆時該程式將升級至可以計算用戶日常在不同環境及時段曝露於空氣污染物的量度。用戶可得知哪類活動最有可能導致空氣污染及對健康構成最大風險。在此階段流動應用程式的介面將改動至可以收集用戶的健康信息 ,用作開發第三階段的個人化功能 。
預計到2021年,PRAISE-HK將會推出第三階段的流動應用程式,該程式會運用收集活躍用戶的健康信息,在實時及空氣質素預測的信息充份時,向用戶提供因應個人健康狀況度身定做的個人化預報和建議。
PRAISE-HK流動應用程式各階段的推出日期如有變動,恕不另行通知。
 
Q6: 香港政府已經採用空氣質素健康指數系統。PRAISE-HK 有何不同?
政府現時公布的空氣質素健康指數, 是按環保署位於不同地區的 13 個監察站及 3 個路邊監察站的平均污染物濃度推算,和評估其相應的短期健康風險。
這資訊雖然有用,但其數字只是說明了廣泛地區的空氣質素一般情況,並未能反映街道之間的空氣質素變化。
相反,PRAISE-HK系統能提供仔細及詳盡的空氣質素及相關的健康資訊。當遇上空氣質素欠佳的時候,用戶可參考PRAISE-HK程式的資訊作出相應計劃,有效減少接觸空氣污染物的機會及相應的健康影響。
 
Q7: PRAISE-HK的預測數據有多準確?
我們將PRAISE-HK的預測數據與環保署各區的空氣質素監測站觀察數據比對,結果如下: http://envf.ust.hk/dataview/v2/praise-verif/current/index.py.
 
Q8: 香港政府以及其他機構是否支持 PRAISE-HK?
PRAISE-HK是跨院校合作形式的項目。項目並得到環境保護署、起動九龍東、醫學團體和環保組織的支持。點擊http://hqlx56.ust.hk/wordpress/index.php/team/?lang=zh查閱PRAISE-HK的支持機構。
 
Q9: 如果我對PRAISE-HK還有其他疑問,我可以怎樣做?
請電郵至praise@ust.hk,聯絡PRAISE-HK團隊。
 

PRAISE-HK 由香港科技大學環境研究所研發,由香港上海匯豐銀行150週年慈善計劃支持。

WHAT IS AQHI AND HOW IS AIR QUALITY REPORTED?

PRAISE-HK uses the Air Quality Health Index (AQHI), developed by the Hong Kong Environmental Protection Department (HKEPD), to report the current and forecasted air quality for the next 48 hours.

The AQHI is developed by first calculating the sum of the percentage added short-term health risk (%AR) of daily hospital admissions attributable to the 3-hour moving average concentrations of ozone (O3), nitrogen dioxide (NO2), particulate matter (PM), and sulphur dioxide (SO2).  The total sum of the %AR of the four pollutants are then converted to 11 AQHI bands and 5 Health Risk Categories:

Health Risk Category AQHI Band %AR
Low 1 – 3 %AR <= 5.64
Medium 4 – 6 5.64 < %AR <= 11.29
High 7 11.29 < %AR <= 12.91
Very High 8 – 10 12.91 < %AR <= 19.37
Serious 10+ %AR > 19.37

About Hong Kong’s annual AQHI

 

WHAT IS PRAISE-HK?

PRAISE-HK stands for Personalised Real-time Air-quality Informatics System for Exposure in Hong Kong. It is a smart city app that provides state-of-the-science real-time and forecasted (up to 48 hours) air quality and health risk information down the street where you are located.

The resolution of the air quality and health risk information vary, ranging from the finest resolution of two meters (2 m) along the urban road network to the lowest resolution of twenty meters (20 m) in rural areas over Hong Kong.

 

WHY PRAISE-HK?

Hong Kong’s official air quality monitoring network, limited to a small number of monitoring sites and designed to depict the average air quality over different districts, cannot show the fine scale street-to-street variations of air quality. This may give the public an impression that there is a little variation of air quality in the city, and that there is not much they can do to avoid highly polluted areas.

However, the air quality can actually vary widely from one street to another in dense urban cities like Hong Kong as a result of the difference in traffic and ventilation conditions. The goal of the PRAISE-HK mobile app is to empower the user with street-to-street air quality information, so that he/she may make more informed decisions about his/her daily activities.

website-why-praise-maps

PRAISE-HK APP USER INSTRUCTION

AIR QUALITY AT YOUR CURRENT LOCATION – HOME SCREEN

The home screen shows the current AQHI at your GPS identified location.

home_en

  • check the %ARs contributed from the different pollutants by tapping the AQHI display;
  • check the health advice for the reported AQHI by tapping the “heart icon”;
  • check the AQHI values at your bookmarked locations by tapping the “bookmark icon”;
  • check the 48-hour AQHI forecasts at your location by swipe the forecast bar to the left;
  • check the street level air quality map around you by tapping the “location iconicon-button-circular-1”;
  • tap the burger menu menu-button-1 to get a menu list of possible action items.

The PRAISE-HK app is designed for showing the fine-scale air quality variations in Hong Kong. If the user is outside Hong Kong, it will show the AQHI information of a selected location near the geographic center of Hong Kong.

 

STREET LEVEL AIR QUALITY MAP

You can get to the Street Level Air Quality Map by tapping the “location iconicon-button-circular-1” on the home screen, or the corresponding tab on the menu list.

map-pageThe Street Level Air Quality Map firstly shows the air quality distribution around you. You can:

  • use the opacity bar to control the opacity of the pollutant map layer to better see the pollutant distribution or the underlying map display;
  • swipe the “Forecast” slide bar to find out the pollutant distribution at other forecast hours;
  • tap the “pollutant layer iconlayers” to change the displayed distribution from %AR, to AQHI and other criteria pollutants (NO2, O3, PM2.5, PM10 and SO2);
  • pan to relocate the map display area;
  • zoom in to look at more fine-scale variation of air quality around you;
  • zoom out to look at more at the large-scale distribution of air quality around you;
  • drag the map to select any location or input a location at the search bar to find a particular place, and its corresponding AQHI will be shown in a display box. You can then touch the display box to check the pollutant concentrations and %ARs, or tap:
    • Bookmarkbookmark_w” icon to save the selected location as a bookmarked location. This location will be saved to the list of “Saved locations”, and the bookmark icon will change from empty to filled. If the location has already been saved, clicking “filled bookmarkbookmark-01” icon will bring you to the “Saved Locations” screen.
    • Forecast” tab to show the AQHI, %AR and pollutant concentration forecasts;
    • Health Advice” tab to health advice corresponding to the %AR;
    • closelocator_updated” icon to remove the AQHI display box.

 

SAVED LOCATIONS

Following instructions on adding “bookmarks” in the “Street Level Air Quality Map” section, you can bookmark places you or your family often visit in your list of “Saved locations” and find out their current and predicted air quality with a single tap.

You can go to the “Saved Locations” screen by tapping the “Bookmarkbookmark-01” icon on any screen, or select the corresponding tab on the menu list. The current AQHI and the forecasted range of AQHI for the rest of today and for tomorrow for all your saved locations will be tabulated.

bookmarks_enYou can also:

  • tap on any location name to go to the street level air quality map around that location;
  • tap on the forecast of any location to get the detailed 48 hour forecast of that location;
  • reorder the list of saved locations;
  • go to the Edit screen for any saved location by tapping the “>” icon on android phones OR swiping left over the “>” icon and tapping the “more” on Apple iphones. On the edit screen, you can
    • change the name of the bookmarked location;
    • enable or disable push notification for that bookmarked location;
    • set the alert level for push notification for that bookmarked location; if alert is enabled for a location, a notification will be generated if the AQHI is forecasted to be higher than or equal to the selected alert level in the next 3 hours. To avoid excessive alerts generated during bad air quality days, only one notification will be generated per day per saved location.

 

FORECAST VIDEOS

For users interested in going under the hood to better understand the PRAISE-HK system, you can see the different layers of predictions in the derivation of the AQHI products by choosing the “Forecast Videos” tab on the menu.

The AQHI prediction at four spatial scales are shown in four panels. These videos show clearly the interactions between pollutant emission (over land areas) and their transport by the weather systems.

4-maps

Starting with the top left panel, which shows the results of a model covering much of Asia at 27 km resolution; this model try to take into account the changing weather system in the next 48 hours, and the transport of pollutant from different part of Asia into our neighbourhood region in the Greater Bay Area. High AQHI levels are represented by black, brown and red, and medium to low AQHI levels are shown in orange and green. Transport of pollutant from one part of Asia to another can readily be seen, and from time to time. These transport may bring the pollutants (and high AQHI) into Hong Kong. The 27 km resolution model predicts the background air quality variations over southern China.

Going clockwise, the top-right panel shows the result of an 1 km resolution model cover most of the Pearl River Delta and Hong Kong. Taking output from the 27 km resolution model and adding more detailed local emission information, this 1 km model predicts the background  air quality variations over Hong Kong. 

Continuing clockwise, the bottom-right panel shows the results of our street resolving urban dispersion model running at 2 to 20 m resolution over the entire Hong Kong. Taking the output from the 1 km model and running at street resolving resolutions, this urban dispersion model can take into account of the effects of local traffic density, wind characteristics, build morphology and street canyon trapping effects.

It is difficult to show street scale variations in a map covering the entire Hong Kong. Hence, the Kowloon Bay area was extracted and shown in the bottom-left panel at very fine resolution to show the street-resolving ability of the system.

Besides AQHI, you can choose to show the pollutant concentrations by selecting the individual tabs (NO2, O3, PM2.5, PM10 and SO2) at the top of the Forecast Videos screen.

You can also choose to display forecast videos of %AR, the percentage added short-term health risks. Instead of showing the total %AR for the four domains, we have chosen to show the %AR(total) in the top-left panel, and its components %AR(NO2)%AR(O3) and %AR(PM) for Hong Kong in the top-right, bottom-right and bottom-left panels, respectively. Theoretically, %AR(total) should also include %AR(SO2), but the SO2 term is usually very small and can be neglected.

By plotting the total %AR and its contributing components together at the same color scale, we hope to show the public which pollutant is contributing more to their air pollution percentage added short-term health risks. Overall speaking, for the %AR used in the AQHI, NO2 contributes most significantly to %AR at or near the roadside, while O3 contributes most significantly in rural areas.

 

TECHNICAL DETAILS

Air quality at any urban location is controlled by many factors, including (1) the release of air pollutants from nearby and far away emission sources (e.g., human related sources like vehicles and ships, power plants, industrial plants, residential and commercial buildings, and natural sources like dust storms and forest fires, etc.) (2) the transportation of pollutants by winds from one place to another, (3) other meteorological factors like temperature, sunshine and rainfall that affect the photo-chemical transformation of the air pollutants enroute, and (4) urban morphology that affects the dispersion and ventilation of the air pollutants in the city.

To analyse the current air quality situation, as well as to predict the air quality variations in the next 48 hours, we have to try to take into account of all the aforementioned processes. For the PRAISE-HK system, we have combined multiple state-of-the-science technologies including the most updated emission inventories, land-use characteristics, large-scale coarse resolution weather prediction and photo-chemical air quality models, very fine-scale high resolution urban street canyon model, traffic simulation models, and big data analytics to provide the best short-term analysis and medium-term forecasts of air quality down to individual streets.

The system comprises of the following components:

  • BACKGROUND AIR QUALITY – derived using the coupled WRF-CMAQ photo-chemical model with the most up-to-date emission inventory
  • HONG KONG AIR QUALITY DISTRIBUTION – derived using the Urban-ADMS model with local urban morphology information (topography, building height and density), traffic statistics, as well as weather and background air quality output from the WRF-CMAQ model
  • REAL-TIME VARIATIONS – use big-data analytics to combine air quality prediction from the Urban-ADMS model with real-time wind, air quality and special reports related to changing road/traffic conditions

technical-details

 

FAQS

Q1: DOES THIS APP APPLY TO AREAS OUTSIDE HONG KONG?

At the moment, no. But we anticipate that, in the future, apps similar to PRAISE-HK will be developed for other cities and regions.

 

Q2: DOES PRAISE-HK ONLY WORK ON MOBILE DEVICES?

PRAISE-HK is available for both iOS and compatible Android devices running OS 6.0 or higher.

In order to receive real-time air quality and health risk information, you will need to make sure your device is connected to the internet and activated your GPS for greater accuracy.

We are considering the development of a web-based version of PRAISE-HK in the near future.

 

Q3: WHAT IS “%AR” AND HOW IS IT RELATED TO AQHI?

%AR or the Percentage Added Health Risk” of an air pollutant (e.g. NO2) is a measure of the percentage increase in risk of hospitalization due to that pollutant at the observed level, as compared to the risk of hospitalization if the concentration of that pollutant is zero.

The AQHI is based on the sum of %AR of four pollutants: ozone (O3), nitrogen dioxide (NO2), sulphur dioxide (SO2), and particulate matter (PM).

The %ARs used in PRAISE-HK are derived from time-series analysis of pollution and hospitalization data reported in Hong Kong. These are “short-term” risks because the use of time-series analysis of short-term (daily) variations, as contrasted to other “long-term” risks derived from incidence analysis on long-term (annual-averaged) pollution and mortality or cancer case data.

 

Q4: WHERE DOES PRAISE-HK SOURCE ITS DATA?

The primary data for PRAISE-HK is an extensive atmospheric and environmental database developed by IENV at HKUST. Since 1997, this database has been collecting online and offline data related to real-time in-situ and remote-sensed meteorological and environmental observations, urban morphology, population and health statistics, transport patterns (land, sea and air) and other emission source characteristics. These data were used to support the WRF-CMAQ, ADMS-Urban, MATSIM and the big-data analytics modules of the PRAISE-HK system.

See Technical Details for more information.

 

Q5: DOES PRAISE-HK INCLUDE THE INFORMATION OF INDOOR AIR QUALITY?

No, at the moment. But it will happen in the next phase.

The current version of this app is in the Phase 1 of PRAISE-HK project, which allow the user to query the current and predicted outdoor air quality information at a specific location.

The Phase 2 launched in late 2019 will focus on further deducing air quality from indoor and vertical (elevated vs. underground) environments. At this stage, the app will be upgraded with the powerful capability to calculate a user’s daily total exposure based on their daily activities in different locations and at different times.

In 2021, the app released in the third phase will leverage the health information collected from active users to provide personalised health recommendations upon real-time and foreseeable air quality situations.

The release dates may subject to change without prior notice due to the project progress.

 

Q6: THE GOVERNMENT HAS AN AQHI MOBILE APP. HOW IS PRAISE-HK DIFFERENT?

The current data provided by the government’s AQHI is based on average pollutant concentration measurements taken from the EPD’s 13 general and three roadside air quality-monitoring stations in different districts, and corresponding short-term health risks.

While this is helpful, the numbers only illustrate a general picture about the air quality situation over a very wide geographical area, but they cannot show the street-to-street variations of air quality.

In contrast, the PRAISE-HK system provide high resolution air quality and health risks information down to the street level. When the air quality is particularly bad, the public can then make more informed decisions to reduce the air pollutant exposure in their daily activities (e.g. avoiding the more polluted streets).

 

Q7: HOW ACCURATE ARE YOUR PREDICTIONS?

We compare our prediction with corresponding values reported by the Environmental Protection Department’s at their air quality monitoring stations. Here is the verification statistics: http://envf.ust.hk/dataview/v2/praise-verif/current/index.py.

 

Q8: IS PRAISE-HK SUPPORTED BY LOCAL ENVIRONMENTAL AUTHORITIES AND ORGANISATIONS?

PRAISE-HK is a cross-institutional collaboration. The project has been receiving the support of the Environmental Protection Department, Energizing Kowloon East Office, medical professionals and environmental NGOs.

Please check out http://praise.ust.hk/index.php/team/ for a list of supporting organisations.

 

Q9: WHAT CAN I DO IF I HAVE OTHER QUERIES ON PRAISE-HK?

Please contact PRAISE-HK Team by email to praise@ust.hk.

 

PRAISE-HK is developed by the Institute for the Environment (IENV) at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST), and it is funded by the HSBC 150th Anniversary Charity Program.