關於 PRAISE-HK 項目

Q1:什麼是PRAISE-HK?
Q2:PRAISE-HK系統如何運作?
Q3:誰有份參與創建和管理PRAISE-HK系統?
Q4:外地有開發類似PRAISE-HK的系統嗎?
Q5:PRAISE-HK 採用的“大數據” 來源為何?
Q6:PRAISE-HK項目建基於“曝光科學”的概念。它是什麼?它與我有什麼關係?
Q7:我認為空氣污染只是室外問題。 為什麼PRAISE-HK監測室內空氣質素?
Q8:香港政府已經採用空氣質素健康指數系統。 PRAISE-HK有何不同?
Q9:香港政府是否支持PRAISE-HK?
Q10:這個項目的調查結果如何影響政策制定?

關於PRAISE-HK流動應用程式

Q11:如何使用PRAISE-HK流動應用程式?
Q12:在哪裡可以獲得PRAISE-HK流動 應用程式?
Q13:PRAISE-HK項目不同階段的工作為何?
Q14:使用PRAISE-HK需要多少費用?
Q15:PRAISE-HK是否只適用於流動通訊設備?
Q16:我使 PRAISE-HK 時需要留意個人 PRAISE-HK 收集的數據僅用作建模用途,在任何情況均不會向第三方分享作其他用途。資料安全及私隱嗎?


Q1:什麼是 PRAISE-HK?

「個人化實時空氣質素曝露環境信息系統 – 香港」(PRAISE-HK)是一個有遠大目標的創新項目:讓公眾有效地管理和減少曝露於有空氣污染物。

PRAISE-HK 研究易用的流動應用程式,為你提供室內和室外空氣質素的實時和預測信息,場景包括: 家居、辦公室、學校、社區甚至在交通工具上。

流動應用程序可按個人需要調整,運用你的健康數據和行蹤資料,建構你的個人健康風險檔案及估計特定污染物對你的潛在健康風險。

 

Q2:PRAISE-HK系統如何運作?

PRAISE-HK 流動應用程式現正由香港科技大學環境研究所研發及製作。PRAISE-HK 將結合頂尖的感測技術、大數據、空氣質素監測系統及曝光科學,有效分析和預測香港街道的空氣質素。

之後將研究結果與流動設備上的 GPS 信息和個人健康數據結合,系統將能夠為你量身定度空氣質素和健康信息。

您可以透過PRAISE-HK流動應用程式,清晰易用的界面讀取這些有用的信息,採取相應措施。

 

Q3:誰有份參與創建和管理 PRAISE-HK 系統?

PRAISE-HK 由香港科技大學、香港城市大學、香港中文大學、北卡羅來納州立大學(美國)、劍橋環境研究顧問(英國)和 AECOM(香港)的國際專家小組研發。 科大負責數據儲存和數據庫管理。

 

Q4:外地有開發類似 PRAISE-HK 的系統嗎?

目前沒有,所以 PRAISE-HK 是突破性的項目。 我們希望 PRAISE-HK 開發空氣質素評估流動應用程式的經驗,可以供其他國家和城市借鑒。

當想到世界各地有多少人因空氣污染而生病或提前死亡,這項目是非常重要的。它不單能夠幫助最脆弱的群組(如老人,兒童,哮喘患者),亦可幫助到任何關心自己健康的人。

 

Q5:PRAISE-HK 採用的“大數據” 來源為何?

PRAISE-HK 採用大數據分析多個科研機構及官方提供的大量數據,以及空氣質素實驗模型的研究成果,包括:

  • 科大自主研發的空氣質素建模工程,包括移動空氣質素樣辦車,電車空氣質素抽樣調查,不同類型樓宇的室內外空氣質素比例評估;
  • Google 地圖交通流量信息的模型;
  • 香港政府的實時交通流量信息;
  • 香港政府 16 個空氣質素監測站的實時資料;
  • 香港天文台的實時天氣資料及其他有關建築物密度、高度、方向及通風走廊的城市形態分析。

 

Q6:PRAISE-HK 項目建基於“空氣污染曝露科學”的概念。它是什麼?它與我有什麼關係?

“空氣污染曝露科學” 是一門較新的科學評估方法,它考究人類與各種壓力因素之間的關係。用諸 PRAISE-HK 項目,就是考究人類與空氣污染物的關係。 在評估暴露程度時,其中重要的考慮是 ”個體之間的變異性”。這意味不同人身處相同的空氣質素環境,因其活動模式和個人特質迴異,會有不同感覺和反應。這些差異亦導致各人在不同環境中 (例如在家中、 辦公室或室外 ) 曝露於空氣污染物的頻率和持續時間有所差別。

PRAISE-HK 流動應用程式將具有足夠功能,為不同用戶提供準確的個人化曝露與健康風險信息。

 

Q7:我認為空氣污染只是室外問題。 為什麼PRAISE-HK監測室內空氣質素?

我們在室內的時間約佔 80%至 90%。 我們的初步研究表示:有害的室外空氣污染物可以有效滲透到室內環境中,對我們的健康構成同等威脅,無論在家居、辦公室還是商場都令人擔憂。 打開窗戶和開空調通常只有低度的過濾作用。 室內空氣質素必須是評估空氣污染的一部分。

 

Q8:香港政府已經採用空氣質素健康指數系統。PRAISE-HK 有何不同?

政府現時的空氣質素健康指數, 是按環保署位於不同地區的 13 個監察站及 3 個路邊監察站的平均污染物濃度推算,和評估其相應的短期健康風險。

這資訊雖然有用,但其數字只是說明了廣泛地區的空氣質素一般情況。

PRAISE-HK 通過將空氣質素 (即空氣質素健康指數中的健康影響)測量至街道水平,解決這個問題。 它計算在特定路線的空氣污染物總體曝露及其對健康影響,提供與個人用戶相關的信息。

 

Q9:香港政府是否支持 PRAISE-HK?

這個項目是跨院校形式的合作。我們得到環境保護署對 PRAISE-HK 的全力支持,環保署亦會推動政府跨部門信息共享,發揮重要作用,為項目成功作出貢獻。

 

Q10:這個項目的調查結果如何影響政策制定?

PRAISE-HK 將成為公眾和政府有用的工具。 PRAISE-HK 不僅讓公眾全面了解有關空氣質素和相關健康風險的數據,搜集得來的大量數據亦可使每人更清晰地了解香港整體的空氣污染問題。 這些信息對於政府的城市規劃和政策制定非常有用。

 

Q11:如何使用PRAISE-HK流動應用程式?

以下是使用 PRAISE-HK 流動應用程式降低曝露風險的幾種方法:

      1. 根據實時空氣質素資料和健康風險評估計劃行程:PRAISE-HK 系統會採用Google 地圖資料,您可以按照日常搜索路線的方法,規劃路線和觀察交通流量,並同時獲取實時 空氣質素和健康風險的信息。
      2. 找出對你最有影響的空氣污染物:PRAISE-HK 應用程序可以識別你最敏感的空氣污染物,幫助您創建個人污染風險檔案。 您可以得知污染物最密集的位置, 如果您要進入高風險區域,應用程序將向你發送個人化預報。
      3. 在活動數天前參考空氣質素預測,計劃活動細節:PRAISE-HK 流動應用程式可以預測未來3天空氣污染水平,讓您可以提前計劃,並在低風險時安排活動。

 

Q12:在哪裡可以獲得PRAISE-HK流動應用程式?

PRAISE-HK 流動應用程式的第一版預計在2018年完成。訂閱我們的通訊,就可以在收到最新的通知!

 

Q13:PRAISE-HK項目不同階段的工作為何?

PRAISE-HK 分三個階段推行。這安排可讓我們收集到更多有關空氣質素和用戶體驗的有用數據,及維持PRAISE-HK流動應用程式實用性和先進技術水平。

    • 第一階段(2018年)— PRAISE-AQ:第一階段的重點是找出不同微觀環境的空氣污染差異,精細度達至社區和街道的水平。流動應用程式第一版將為用戶提供實時信息。
    • 第二階段(2019年)— PRAISE-HK:第二階段的重點是估算室內及垂直環境 (例如高點與地庫)的空氣質素。流動應用程式將升級至可以計算用戶日常在不同環境及時段曝露於空氣污染物的量度。用戶可得知哪類活動最有可能導致空氣污染及對健康構成最大風險。在此階段流動應用程式的介面將改動至可以收集用戶的健康信息 ,用作開發第三階段的個人化功能 。
    • 第三階段(2021年)— 個人化 PRAISE-HK:第三階段發佈的流動應用程式將利用活躍用戶的健康信息,當實時及空氣質素預測的信息充份時,向用戶提供個人健康狀況度身定做的個人化預報和建議。

 

Q14:PRAISE-HK 手機應用程式是否需要付費?

不用。所有人都可免費使用。

 

Q15:PRAISE-HK是否只適用於流動通訊設備?

PRAISE-HK 可供 Android 和 IOS 應用程式系統的流動設備使用。要取準確的實時空氣質素和健康風險信息,您需要確保流動設備已連接到互聯網和/或已開啟GPS功能 。您亦可以選擇手動輸入位置信息。

 

Q16:我使PRAISE-HK 時需要留意個人 PRAISE-HK收集的數據僅用作建模用途,在任何情況均不會向第三方分享作其他用途。資料安全及私隱嗎?

PRAISE-HK 收集的數據僅供開發訊息系統所用,在任何情況下均不會向第三方分享。

About the PRAISE-HK project

Q1: What is PRAISE-HK?
Q2: How does the PRAISE-HK system work?
Q3: Who is involved in creating and managing the PRAISE-HK system?
Q4: Are there systems like PRAISE-HK anywhere else in the world?
Q5: How and where does PRAISE-HK source its “big data”?
Q6: The PRAISE-HK project is based on the concept of “exposure science.” What is it, and what does it have to do with me?
Q7: I thought air pollution is only a problem outdoors. Why does PRAISE-HK track indoor air quality?
Q8: The government already runs an AQHI system. How is PRAISE-HK different?
Q9: Is PRAISE-HK supported by local environmental authorities?
Q10: How will the findings of this project influence policymaking?

About the PRAISE-HK mobile app

Q11: How do I use the PRAISE-HK app?
Q12: Where can I get the PRAISE-HK app?
Q13: What will the different phases of the PRAISE-HK project involve?
Q14: How much will it cost to use PRAISE-HK?
Q15: Does PRAISE-HK only work on mobile devices?
Q16: Should I be concerned about personal data security or privacy issues?


Q1: WHAT IS PRAISE-HK?

Personalised Real-Time Air Quality Informatics System for Exposure – Hong Kong (PRAISE-HK) is an innovative project with an ambitious goal: to empower people to effectively manage and reduce their exposure to air pollutants.

Presented as a user-friendly mobile app, PRAISE-HK will give you access to real-time and forecasted information about the air quality in your indoor and outdoor surroundings: your home, office, school, neighbourhood, even on your commutes.

The app will be personalised, using your unique health data and travel history to identify your individual risk profile and specific exposure risks.

 

Q2: HOW DOES THE PRAISE-HK SYSTEM WORK?

The PRAISE-HK app is powered by an advanced new system that we are building here at the HKUST Institute for the Environment. The PRAISE-HK system combines state-of-the-art sensor technologies, big data, air quality modelling system, and exposure science to analyse and forecast the air quality in Hong Kong, down to the street level.

Taking the outcome of this research and combining it with both the GPS information on your mobile device and the personal health data you provide, the system will then be able to provide air quality and health information tailor-made just for you.

You can access this useful information through the clean, easy-to-understand interface on the PRAISE-HK app, and take corresponding action.

 

Q3: WHO IS INVOLVED IN CREATING AND MANAGING THE PRAISE-HK SYSTEM?

PRAISE-HK is developed by an international team of experts from the HKUST, City University of Hong Kong, Chinese University of Hong Kong, North Carolina State University (USA), Cambridge Environmental Research Consultants (UK), and AECOM (HK). HKUST is in charge of data-hosting and database management.

 

Q4: ARE THERE SYSTEMS LIKE PRAISE-HK ANYWHERE ELSE IN THE WORLD?

At the moment, no. That’s precisely why PRAISE-HK is so ground-breaking. We hope that PRAISE-HK will pave the way for other countries and cities to develop their own air quality assessment mobile app.

Considering how many people around the world are falling ill or dying prematurely from air pollution, this project is extremely important and is in a position to help not only those most vulnerable (such as the elderly, children, asthma patients), but anyone who cares about staying healthy – so people just like you and me.

 

Q5: HOW AND WHERE DOES PRAISE-HK SOURCE ITS “BIG DATA”?

PRAISE-HK is built on huge quantities of big data analysis and air modelling experiments from multiple scientific and official sources, including:

  • HKUST’s own on-going air quality modelling projects, including a mobile air quality sampling vehicle, tram-based air quality sampling, indoor versus outdoor air quality ratio evaluations among different types of buildings
  • Traffic flow modelling based on information from Google Maps
  • Government real-time traffic flow information
  • Government real-time data from16 air quality monitoring stations around Hong Kong
  • Hong Kong Observatory’s real-time weather information and other urban morphology analyses of building density, height, orientation and ventilation corridors.

 

Q6: THE PRAISE-HK PROJECT IS BASED ON THE CONCEPT OF “EXPOSURE SCIENCE.” WHAT IS IT, AND WHAT DOES IT HAVE TO DO WITH ME?

“Exposure Science” is a relatively new area of scientific assessment that looks at the contact between humans and a wide array of stressors such as, in the case of PRAISE-HK, air pollutants. In assessing exposure, it is important to take into account “inter-individual variability.” This means that different people feel and react differently even under the same ambient air quality condition, based on real differences in activity patterns and other characteristics of one individual versus another.

These differences lead to variations in the frequency and duration with which individuals are exposed to air pollutants in different environments, such as at home, at work, or being outdoors.

The PRAISE-HK app will be powerful enough to provide each unique user with accurate personalised information about their individual exposure and health risks.

 

Q7: I THOUGHT AIR POLLUTION IS ONLY A PROBLEM OUTDOORS. WHY DOES PRAISE-HK TRACK INDOOR AIR QUALITY?

We spend about 80 to 90 per cent of our time indoors. So it should be worrying that our pilot studies suggest that harmful outdoor air pollutants can penetrate effectively into indoor environments and pose just as much threat to our health, be it in the home, in the office or in shopping malls. Opening windows and turning on air conditioners generally have a low filtration effect. Indoor air quality must be a part of the overall air pollution conversation.

 

Q8: THE GOVERNMENT ALREADY RUNS AN AQHI SYSTEM. HOW IS PRAISE-HK DIFFERENT?

The current data provided by the government’s AQHI is based on average pollutant concentration measurements taken from the EPD’s 13 general and three roadside air quality-monitoring stations in different districts, and corresponding short-term health risks.

While this is helpful, the numbers only illustrate a general picture about the air quality situation over a very wide geographical area.

PRAISE-HK resolves this by taking air quality (and hence, the health impact categorised in the AQHI) variations down to the street level. It computes total exposure and specific health impact on particular routes, making the information relevant to individual users.

 

Q9: IS PRAISE-HK SUPPORTED BY LOCAL ENVIRONMENTAL AUTHORITIES?

Our project is cross-institutional collaboration. We have the full support of the Environmental Protection Department for PRAISE-HK and going forward, the department will play an important role in facilitating cross-departmental information sharing to ensure the success of this project.

 

Q10: HOW WILL THE FINDINGS OF THIS PROJECT INFLUENCE POLICYMAKING?

PRAISE-HK is poised to be a useful tool for the public and for the government. Not only can it empower people with comprehensive data about air quality and associated health risks, the crowd-sourced data will give everyone a better understanding about Hong Kong’s air pollution problems as a whole. This information can prove extremely useful for government urban planning and policymaking.

 

Q11: HOW DO I USE THE PRAISE-HK APP?

Here are a few ways to use the PRAISE-HK app to lower your exposure risk:

      1. Plan travel routes according to real-time air quality readings and health risk assessment: The PRAISE-HK system is integrated with Google Maps, so you can search as usual for directions, plan routes and observe traffic, while obtaining real-time readings of the air quality and health risks in those locations.
      2. Find out the specific air pollutants that most affect you: The PRAISE-HK app can identify air pollutants to which you are most sensitive, helping you create your personal pollution risk profile. Using the app, you can see where these pollutants are most dense – the app will send you personalised alerts if you about to enter high risk areas as well.
      3. Plan activities based on air quality forecasts a few days in advance: The PRAISE-HK app is able to forecast air pollution levels up to 3 days, so you can plan ahead and schedule activities during low-risk times.

 

Q12: WHERE CAN I GET THE PRAISE-HK APP?

The first release of the PRAISE-HK app is expected in 2018. Join our mailing list to be notified when the app becomes available!

 

Q13: WHAT WILL THE DIFFERENT PHASES OF THE PRAISE-HK PRJOECT INVOLVE?

The PRAISE-HK project is being completed in three phases. This allows us to collect as much meaningful data about air quality and user experience as possible, so that we can keep the PRAISE-HK mobile app practical and state-of-the-art.

    • Phase 1, PRAISE-AQ, 2018: The first phase will focus on determining differences in air pollution among different micro-environments, down to the neighbourhood and street level. The first release of the app will provide the user with this information in real time.
    • Phase 2, PRAISE-HK, 2019: The second phase of the project will focus on further deducing air quality from indoor and vertical (elevated vs. underground) environments. At this stage, the app will be upgraded with the powerful capability to calculate a user’s daily total exposure based on their daily activities in different locations and at different times. This means you will be able to see which of your activities contribute to the highest potential air pollution and pose the most threat to your health. Another development in this phase will be an effective, dynamic user interface to collect your health information, which the system will then use to develop personalised functionalities in Phase 3.
    • Phase 3, PERSONALISED PRAISE-HK, 2021: The app released in the third phase will leverage the health information collected from active users to provide personalised health recommendations upon real-time and foreseeable air quality situations.

 

Q14: HOW MUCH DOES IT COST TO USE PRAISE-HK?

Nothing. It will be free and accessible to everyone.

 

Q15: DOES PRAISE-HK ONLY WORK ON MOBILE DEVICES? 

PRAISE-HK is being developed for mobile devices (Android and IOS applications). In order to receive real-time air quality and health risk information, you will need to make sure your device is connected to the internet and/or activate your GPS for greater accuracy. You may also choose to manually input location information.

 

Q16: SHOULD I BE CONCERNED ABOUT PERSONAL DATA SECURITY OR PRIVACY ISSUES?

Data collected for PRAISE-HK will be for modelling purposes only and will not, under any circumstances, be shared to third parties for other uses.